Beautiful East New Britain

Standing 2 emu eggs with Mt Tavurvur in the background.
Mt Tavurvur in the background and two emu eggs in hand ready to go into the hot springs.

A plume of smoke rises from Tavurvur, coconut plantations line the coast line below as Air Niugini flight PX 272 cruises over the blue sea as it comes into land at Tokua International Airport. East New Britain, Rabaul and kokopo to be exact described in one word, ‘Fascinating’ I would I say. The hospitality and the friendliness of the people was overwhelming. I didn’t know I was such a big celebrity outside of Port Moresby, but news was out that the Pacific Games Kokomo was in town.

Choosing East New Britain as the first province to visit in Papua New Guinea was no mistake. The overwhelming reception waiting for me at every school I visited was unforgettable. I had the privilege of visiting the hot springs, the famous volcanoes and the WWII sites in Rabaul. ENB is a place full of history and breath taking beauty. The purpose of the visit was to let the people of ENB know all about the 2015 Pacific Games and share the experience with them even if the games are to be held in Port Moresby. It was an awesome experience and if it is any indication of what’s in store for me when I visit the other 20 or so provinces then, this is AMAZING! Thank You ENB for an AMZING EXPERIENCE. Here are pictures from my trip I’d like to share with you all.

Till next time…take care!

Tura –
Official Mascot 2015 XV Pacific Games

A real Tolai Welcome for me.
A real Tolai Welcome for me from the Staff at Moore Printing – one of the Games Sponsors
Kokopo Secondary School
Kokopo Secondary School
With the School Captains of Kokopo Secondary School
With the School Captains of Kokopo Secondary School
With ENB Sporting Reps
With ENB Sporting Reps – Saturday Sports in Kokopo
With the Netball Girls
With the Netball Girls
Saturday Sports Day in Kokopo
Saturday Sports Day in Kokopo

Leave a comment