The Beautiful Admiralty Islands

IMG_0551

I Landed on Manus Island on the wettest day of the year after a 2 hour flight with the Official Games Carrier, Air Niugini. I guess I’m on the frequent flyer list with all the miles I’m registering under my wings. I had never been to Manus, but as is with all provinces I’m visiting around the Country on my tour. I love these first moments.  This country has so much to offer, every place I visit is different and unique in its own way. The food, the people, the culture, all of it!

My trip to Manus Island in July was for the Opening of the Manus Provincial Games. It’s from here that the Manus Team is selected to the PNG Games that will be taking place in November in Lae, Morobe Province. It was an honour to be invited to participate in the opening. It was raining the whole 2 days I was there with my team, but the rain certainly didn’t dampen anyone’s spirits. The Provincial Games opening went ahead. I joined the many teams and paraded through the town and into a World War II bunker of all places. Hehe. I thought this was the coolest arrangement ever. I met the Governor of Manus too. Makes me realise how much of a celebrity I am.

Everyone in Lorengau Town was excited to see me. There were so many people who came from the outter Admiralty Islands for this event. It was a great day! Thank you Manus for being such wonderful hosts and I hope to see you all soon.

Here are some pics from the day

IMG_0166
In the parade –
IMG_0436
Photo With some of the teams
IMG_0378
inside the WWII Bunker – for the official Opening of the Manus Provincial Games

Beautiful Sunset –

IMG_0064
a motorcade around town
Leave a Reply

