My visit to Gerehu, Port Moresby

 

Tura with Gerehu Community Leaders and village court Magistrates
Tura with Gerehu Community Leaders and village court Magistrates

One of my tasks, as the Official Mascot of the 2015 XV Pacific Games is to visit schools and attend all kinds of events, in a bid to promote the games. I go everywhere to let people know that the biggest event in the Pacific is coming to Papua New Guinea. On many occasions, those events tend to be fancy parties in posh hotels and office buildings, or sporting clubs. I mingle with the who’s who of the corporate world, you MPs, Ministers, you name it. But one of my most important visits is to the communities in and around the host City, Port Moresby.

On one such visit, I went to Gerehu, to meet with some local leaders and Village court Magistrates. I was amazed to find out that these are the very people that work at the grassroots level to keep our communities in order, to keep our communities safe. They work day in day out tending to issues in the communities. I visited them to let them know that, I didn’t forget them. I wanted them to know that they are part of the Games. That we are hosting this event, as a country, united as one.

I wanted them to know that These Games are all about breaking the barriers of race, colour and politics for all in the Pacific. It is an event that kinder’s friendship by bringing about a confluence of cultures and meeting of minds and interests. Friendship is the theme, and how fitting is it that my name mean’s ‘friend’.
There is a special lesson in this for us all. The games are not just for a sporting teams, athletes, officials or sponsors, or for me. These games are for everyone, young, old, workers, grassroots, government, businesses. It’s an opportunity for us all to make our own moments. It’s an opportunity for us all to be a part of something great, so we can have stories to share to the future.

Till next time…take care!

Tura –
Official Mascot 2015 XV Pacific Games

Leave a Reply

